The Cumberland Throw

Parramatta Eels 2022 Junior Representatives Awards Night

The Cherringtons were show stealers last night!

The Parramatta Eels celebrated the 2022 Junior Representative season with a gala night at Oatlands House yesterday. Sixties and myself were on hand to mingle amidst some of the who’s who at the Eels and more importantly enjoy a wonderful event. Although the Blue & Gold were not able to bring home any silverware across the three junior grades this year, season 2022 featured plenty of talented young men and women shining brightly and a string of historic moments for the Tarsha Gale.

There were plenty of big names in attendance with Jim Sarantinos and Mark O’Neill headlining the Eels’ brain trust while Kennedy and Rueben Cherrington lit up the dinner with sparkling presences. Former pathways prospects and current NRL stars Will Penisini, Oregon Kaufusi, Reed Mahoney, Ray Stone, Haze Dunster, Jakob Arthur, Sean Russell and Solomone Naiduki were in attendance to connect present to the future NRL and NRLW talents.


The Eels celebrated over 30 years of outstanding work from Kevin Wise

The celebrations were not limited to players either. Club stalwart Kevin Wise was lauded for his long serving contributions to the juniors while Gerry Gee lived up to the legacy of the legendary Denis Anderson as he collected his second consecutive Denis Anderson Medal for the Junior Representatives Club Person Of The Year.

2022 is far from done for a whole stack of Parramatta prospects mind you. The upcoming Women’s National Championship and age group State of Origin squads will give some of the Eels brightest young stars an even bigger platform to shine on in the coming weeks and months while the Jersey Flegg and NRLW beckon for players like Saxon Pryke and Ruby-Jean Kennard.


Harold Matthews


Sam Tuivati scooped up two big gongs in the Harold Matthews

Coaches Award – Matthew Arthur

Best Back – Michael Gabreal

Best Forward – Matthew Arthur

Players’ Player – Sam Tuivati

Best & Fairest – Sam Tuivati


SG Ball


Dom De Stradis (right) and Markis Atoa (left) split the vote for Best Forward

Coaches Award – Saxon Pryke

Best Back – Charlie Guymer

Best Forward – Domenic De Stradis & Markis Atoa

Players’ Player – Domenic De Stradis & Arthur Miller-Stephen

Best & Fairest – Saxon Pryke


Tarsha Gale


No one shone brighter last night than Ruby-Jean Kennard

Coaches Award – Ruby-Jean Kennard

Best Back – Rosemarie Beckett

Best Forward – Ashlee Pottinger

Players’ Player – Petesa Lio & Petalina Atoa

Best & Fairest – Ruby-Jean Kennard


Denis Anderson Medal For The Junior Representatives Club Person Of The Year – Gerry Gee


Representative Honour Roll


NSW City (Boys Under 16s) – Zaidas Muagututia, Jordan Uta, Neil Dunkley (Strength & Conditioning Trainer)

NSW City (Boys Under 18s) – Charlie Guymer, Ethan Sanders (c), Stephen O’Dea (Coach), Greg May (Head Trainer)

NSW City (Girls Under 19s) – Rosemarie Beckett, Ruby-Jean Kennard, Petesa Lio, Tahleisha Maeva, Ryan Walker (Assistant Coach)

VIC (Girls Under 19s) – Petalina Atoa, Ameena Kanj,

QLD (Boys Under 19s) – Arthur Miller-Stephen


2022 NRLW Selection


Ruby-Jean Kennard


2022 NRLW Development Squad


Petalina Atoa

Rosemarie Beckett

Petesa Lio

Tahleisha Maeva


Junior Representative Team Of The Year



1. Mohamed Alameddine (Harold Matthews)
2. Luke Maroun (Harold Matthews)
3. Michael Gabreal (Harold Matthews) & Charlie Guymer (SG Ball)
4. Petesa Lio (Tarsha Gale)
5. Alysha Bell (Tarsha Gale)
6. Tallara Bamblett (Tarsha Gale)
7. Rose Beckett (Tarsha Gale)
8. Sam Tuivati (Harold Matthews) & Petalina Atoa (Tarsha Gale)
9. Matt Arthur (Harold Matthews)
10. Ruby-Jean Kennard (Tarsha Gale)
11. Tahlesha Maeva (Tarsha Gale)
12. Saxon Pryke (SG Ball)
13. Kobi Hurford (Harold Matthews)
14. Katalina Vave (Tarsha Gale)
15. Markis Atoa (SG Ball)
16. Kasey Quye (Tarsha Gale)
17. Lei-Lani Tua (Tarsha Gale)

If you liked this article, you might consider supporting The Cumberland Throw.

2 thoughts on “Parramatta Eels 2022 Junior Representatives Awards Night

  1. Anonymous

    So disappointing going by 1 comment and thats by sixties of the lack of interest in the junior awards yet people constantly come on and whinge about junior situation throughout season !! Its obvious now that when the whingers come on they do it with a complete lack of knowledge !!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.