The Cumberland Throw

Parramatta Eels Junior Rep Presentation Night

The Parramatta Eels Junior Representative season was wrapped up on Wednesday evening with the annual Presentation Night at Oatlands House.

Hosted by Austereo’s Amy Goggins, the importance of the event for the club was emphasised by the attendance of Senior Eels Management along with Eels and Parramatta Leagues Club Directors. Four graduates of the Eels Junior Rep Program – Dylan Brown, Dave Hollis, Sean Russell and Solomone Naiduki were also present.

After last year’s program was lost to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was terrific for everyone involved to be able to complete the season and then celebrate the successes.

The dedication required by players and staff is enormous. The young players are juggling studies or work, and the staff do an incredible job to find the time outside of their careers to prepare and guide their young charges.

This year The Cumberland Throw was privileged to document the season, from trial matches through to jersey presentations, training, match day coverage, reports and ultimately this end of season Presentation Night.

Along the way we’ve been able to share some of what goes on behind the scenes, including the amazing professionalism of the staff. This included Neil Dunkley’s video montage tracking the SG Ball team in the week leading up to the Raiders clash.

Our coverage would not have been possible without the access granted to us by Joey Grima, Craig Brennan, Steve O’Dea, Ryan Walker and all of the staff. It was a much appreciated surprise when our work was kindly acknowledged by Craig in his speech.

In return, it’s essential that I express our thanks for the unprecedented inner sanctum access. Furthermore, we’ve been very fortunate to feature Joey Grima’s weekly appearances on our podcast, The Tip Sheet. Joey keeps our listeners up to date with the Eels pathways news and answers listener questions.

It’s been a big year for the teams. The Harold Matthews team were grand finalists, whilst the SG Ball team were incredibly unlucky to lose only two games and still not qualify for finals football. The Tarsha Gale team faced a tough early draw, but finished their year with two wins and a draw from their last four games.

At the end of the season, ten Eels players and five staff members were selected for NSW City honours. Those selections came from all three teams, a indicator of the strength of Parramatta’s pathways program.

Presentation nights honour individual achievements such as these, but in any team sport, the contributions of everyone involved are important for successes to be realised.

So as we list and honour the award recipients, we would also acknowledge the work and efforts of everyone – players, families, and staff. Development clubs and their pathways can’t function without the community of people involved.

You should all feel very proud.

The award winners were as follows:

Harold Matthews Cup (Head Coach – Steve O’Dea)


Matts award winners

Coach’s Award – Dom De Stradis

Back of the Year – Charlie Guymer

Forward of the Year – Yehya Ayache 

Players’ Player – Saxon Pryke

Best and Fairest – Saxon Pryke



SG Ball Cup (Head Coach – Craig Brennan)


SG Ball award winners

Coach’s Award – Brock Parker

Back of the Year – Kamoe Fekitoa

Forward of the Year – Peter Taateo

Players’ Player – Larry Muagututia

Best and Fairest – Josh Chappell and Larry Muagututia


Tarsha Gale Cup (Head Coach – Ryan Walker)


Tarsha Gale award winners (apologies for camera flash spots)

Coach’s Award – Summah Terare

Back of the Year – Tamerah Leati

Forward of the Year – Losalio Sita Payne

Players’ Player – Ruby-Jean Kennard

Best and Fairest – Ruby-Jean Kennard and Tahleisha Pugh


Denis Anderson Medal – Junior Representative Club Person of the Year


Gerry Gee

Gerry Gee – Harold Matts Team Manager

It’s hard to believe, but it has now been two years since Denis passed away and in accepting this award Gerry delivered a wonderful tribute about what Denis meant to him and the club.

I reckon that Denis would have both appreciated and enjoyed what Gerry had to say.



City Representatives


Tyrese Lokeni

Blaize Talagi

Sam Tuivaiti

Jabriel Kalache

Ethan Sanders

Larry Muagututia

Jock Brazel

Myles Martin

Losalio Sita Payne

Ruby-Jean Kennard


Steve O’Dea

Ryan Walker

Blake Rylewski

Neil Dunkley

Greg May

Joey and the City Reps


Team of The Year

1. Patrick Spence (HM)

2. Suliasi Aho (HM)         

3. Charlie Guymer (HM)

4. Tahleisha Pugh (TG)  

5. Josh Lealaiaulto (HM)

6. Josh Chappell (SG)     

7. Ethan Sanders (HM)  

8. Jontay Mesa Betham (SG)       

9. Yehya Ayache (HM)   

10. Losalio Payne (TG)   

11. Summah Terare (TG)              

12. Saxon Pryke (HM)    

13. Peter Taatao (SG)    

14. Blaize Talagi (HM)    

15. Larry Muagututia (SG)           

16. Jacob John (HM)      

17. Josh Alhazim (HM)  

Team of the Year (with Dylan Brown)


Eels forever!


(NB – these photos were taken from our table. There were official photos taken by the club on the night, so you can expect a photo gallery of professional photos soon)


If you liked this article, you might consider supporting The Cumberland Throw.
Notify of

newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Achilles' Eel

It’s worth mentioning that several of these junior players made state schoolboy representative teams as well. Well done on a great season.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x